Fairness team’s 10k for dementia appeal

Posted By BlackpoolFairness on May 27, 2015 |

Members of Blackpool Fairness Commission have signed up to this year’s Beaverbrooks Blackpool 10k Fun Run, and will be raising money for Blue Skies Hospitals Fund’s Peace of Mind dementia appeal.

The Fairness Commission is the driving force of Blackpool Dementia Action Alliance, and some of its members have pledged to help enhance dementia care on the Fylde Coast by supporting the appeal led by Blue Skies – the charity behind Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

The Rev Steve Haskett, who is the Fairness Commission’s Lead for Dementia, said: “Through our links with the Hospital Trust we heard about this appeal and knew it would be an ideal opportunity to help our work in supporting people with dementia.

“We are all determined to raise as much money as we can for Peace of Mind.”

The team also includes Amanda Bennett, Community Engagement Manager for Blackpool Council, Marcus Beasley, Community Engagement Officer for the council and Fairness Commission Board Members Ian Collins and Mike Crowther.

Peace of Mind aims to raise £30,000 to enhance dementia care across Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre. Current projects include creating a secure and interactive garden at Clifton Hospital and a memory corridor for patients to reflect back to their earlier years.

Doug Garrett, chairman of the Charitable Funds Committee at Blackpool Teaching Hospitals said: “We are so pleased that members of Blackpool Fairness Commission are raising this money for our important appeal.

“I know that while some members of this team are accomplished runners, others are not so every effort this team puts in to complete 10km and raise money for Peace of Mind means so much to us.

“We wish them all the best with their training and for the run.”

The Fun Run, which is organised each year by Trinity Hospice, takes place on Sunday, May 10th along Blackpool Promenade.

To sponsor Blackpool Fairness Commission visitwww.mydonate.bt.com/fundraisers/fairnesscommission.