Terms Of Reference

Terms of Reference for the Blackpool Fairness Commission

Member of Blackpool’s Fairness Commission:
Terms of Reference – Jan 15

Executive Board of Blackpool’s Fairness Commission: Terms of Reference


Blackpool Fairness Commission was set up in 2012 and has been working hard to make Blackpool a fairer place to live.

The Fairness Commission has two key objectives:

  • To take action on to prevent loneliness and social isolation
  • To take action

To meet its objectives, the Fairness Commission delivers projects across Blackpool and provides regular opportunities for all sections of the local community to meet and discuss the key issues for Blackpool.

Members of the Fairness Commission support and promote the objectives and activities of the Commission.

Role of Executive Members

The Executive Board oversees the delivery of projects commissioned by the Commission and measure their impact.

Executive Members of the Fairness Commission will

  • Have an active interest in making Blackpool a fairer place to live, learn and work;
  • Positively promote and support the work of Blackpool’s Fairness Commission, at a strategic level, locally, regionally and nationally;
  • Have a shared commitment to the objectives of the Fairness Commission;
  • Contribute their time and expertise to deliver the Fairness Commission’s projects and activities

Composition of the Executive Board

The Executive Board comprises of:

Dr Arif Rajpura (Chair) (Blackpool Council)

Chief Supt Stuart Noble (Lancashire Constabulary)

Neil Jack (Blackpool Council)

Wendy Swift (Blackpool Teaching Hospitals)

Mark Fitzgerald (Sainsburys)

Ashok Khandewal

Alan Reid (Disability First)

Claire Smith (Stay Blackpool)

Jane Hugo (CEO, Streetlife)

David Bannister (Community Voice)

Tracy Hopkins (CEO, Citizen’s Advice Bureau)

Andy Charles (Business in the Community)

Mike Crowther (Groundwork)

David Houston (CEO, Trinity Hospice)

Jake Adams (Blackpool Member of the Youth Parliament)

Terms of reference

  • The Chair of the project group has been appointed by members of the Executive Board. In the absence of the Chair, the group will nominate a stand-in Chair for the duration of the meeting
  • The Chair will be elected by members of the Executive Board on the three yearly basis (sooner if the post become vacant)
  • The project group will meet six-weekly, and changes to the meeting schedule will be agreed in advance by the group
  • Each meeting will be minute-d, and notes will be circulated to the group, including actions to be completed in a timely fashion
  • The agenda will be agreed with the Chair, and circulated in advance of the meeting
  • Members join the group with the expectation of taking a leading role in delivering activities and projects championed by Blackpool’s Fairness Commission. Activities will be assigned to be completed between meetings
  • Members of the group will (as far as possible) remain objective about agenda items, and declare any conflicts of interest to the Chair
  • Members of the group may share confidential or commercially sensitive information during meetings, which will be kept confidential by other members
  • The Council officers on the group will offer project and secretariat support as needed
  • The roles and composition of the project group will be reviewed on an as-needed basis. Members will review their own contribution to the group, and stand down if they feel that projects no longer need their contribution.

Time commitment

The Board meets every six weeks, and Executive Members should endeavour to attend. Executive Members will also lead and contribute their expertise to specific projects.


Members of the Fairness Commission will not be reimbursed for their time or expertise. They will make their contribution on a voluntary basis.